ITcon Vol. 25, pg. 416-437, http://www.itcon.org/2020/24

Construction 4.0: a survey of research trends

DOI:10.36680/j.itcon.2020.024
submitted:December 2019
revised:August 2020
published:September 2020
editor(s):Obonyo E
authors:Nathalie Perrier, Research Associate,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
nathalie.perrier@polymtl.ca

Aristide Bled, M.Sc.A.,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
aristide.bled@polymtl.ca

Mario Bourgault, Full Professor,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
mario.bourgault@polymtl.ca

Nolwenn Cousin, M.Sc.A.,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
nolwenn.cousin@polymtl.ca

Christophe Danjou, Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
christophe.danjou@polymtl.ca

Robert Pellerin, Full Professor,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
robert.pellerin@polymtl.ca

Thibaut Roland, M.Sc.A.,
Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada.
thibaut.roland@polymtl.ca
summary:The fourth industrial revolution, called Industry 4.0, is transforming decision-making through the increasing use of information and digitization technologies. While Industry 4.0 is expanding rapidly in manufacturing industries, its induced transformations are gradually affecting other sectors, including the construction industry. In recent years, the use of 4.0 technologies in the construction industry, termed as ‘Construction 4.0’, has increased, mostly due to the immense potential of Industry 4.0 for improving the performance of construction projects and structuring their underlying management processes. This paper proposes a classification of existing literature on applications of Construction 4.0 technologies to allow for a better analysis of trends and gaps in the research. A total of nearly 200 research papers between 2009 and 2020 were reviewed and analyzed. Overall, the analysis shows that research on Construction 4.0 is closely aligned with the construction phase. Also, the most researched topics seem to be related to the management processes of quality, risk, and health and safety.
keywords:Construction industry; Industry 4.0; Construction 4.0; Digital technologies
full text: (PDF file, 0.736 MB)
citation:Perrier N, Bled A, Bourgault M, Cousin N, Danjou C, Pellerin R, Roland T (2020). Construction 4.0: a survey of research trends, ITcon Vol. 25, pg. 416-437, https://doi.org/10.36680/j.itcon.2020.024