ITcon Vol. 12, pg. 73-102, http://www.itcon.org/2007/5

A review of approaches to supply chain communications: from manufacturing to construction

submitted:May 2005
revised:May 2006
published:January 2007
authors:Anne-Francoise Cutting-Decelle, Professor
University of Evry/IUT, France
email: afcd@skynet.be

Bob. I. Young, Dr.
Wolfson School of Mechanicale and Manufacturing Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: r.i.young@lboro.ac.uk

Bishnu P. Das, Dr.
Wolfson School of Mechanicale and Manufacturing Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: b.p.das@lboro.ac.uk

Keith Case, Professor
Wolfson School of Mechanicale and Manufacturing Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: k.case@lboro.ac.uk

Shahin Rahimifard, Dr.
Wolfson School of Mechanicale and Manufacturing Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: s.rahimifard@lboro.ac.uk

Chimay J. Anumba, Professor
Department of Civil & building Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: c.j.anumba@lboro.ac.uk

Dino M. Bouchlaghem, Professor
Department of Civil & building Engineering, Loughborough University, UK
email: n.m.bouchlaghem@lboro.ac.uk
summary:With the increasing importance of computer-based communication technologies, communication networks are becoming crucial in supply chain management. Given the objectives of the supply chain: to have the right products in the right quantities, at the right place, at the right moment and at minimal cost, supply chain management is situated at the intersection of different professional sectors. This is particularly the case in construction, since building needs for its fabrication the incorporation of a number of industrial products. This paper provides a review of the main approaches to supply chain communications as used mainly in manufacturing industries. The paper analyses the extent to which these have been applied to construction. It also reviews the on-going developments and research activities in this domain.
keywords:Information exchanges, knowledge sharing, ontology, supply chain management, construction, manufacturing.
full text: (PDF file, 0.237 MB)
citation:Cutting-Decelle A-F, Young B I, Das B P, Case K, Rahimifard S, Anumba C J and Bouchlaghem D M (2007). A review of approaches to supply chain communications: from manufacturing to construction, ITcon Vol. 12, pg. 73-102, http://www.itcon.org/2007/5