ITcon Vol. 10, pg. 55-67, http://www.itcon.org/2005/6

Urban information model for city planning

submitted:January 2005
revised:March 2005
published:April 2005
editor(s):Aound G, Lee A and Wu S
authors:Andy Hamilton, Mr.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: A.hamilton@salford.ac.uk

Hongxia Wang, Ms.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: H.wang5@pgt.salford.ac.uk

Ali Murat Tanyer, Dr.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: A.M.Tanyer@salford.ac.uk

Yusuf Arayici, Dr.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: Y.Arayici@salford.ac.uk

Xiaonan Zhang, Dr.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: X.zhang@salford.ac.uk

Yonghui Song, Dr.
Research Institute for the Built and Human Environment, University of Salford, UK
email: y.h.song@salford.ac.uk
summary:City planning is a complex task and therefore needs to consider the interplay between multi-aspects of a city, for example, transport, pollution, and crime. A city model is important to representing urban issues in a clear manner to the relative stakeholders. Although some city models have been used in the planning process, they are often based on narrow data sets. When sustainability and the quality of urban life generally is considered a more holistic analysis of city issues during the planning process is needed. It calls for city models to be based on integrated data sets. The paper describes the concept and challenges of nD urban information model. The research work on how to develop an nD urban information model to accommodate data sets relevant to different aspects of city planning is presented.
keywords:data model, interoperability, integration metadata, nD model
full text: (PDF file, 0.54 MB)
citation:Hamilton A, Wang H, Tanyer A M, Arayici Y, Zhang X and Song Y (2005). Urban information model for city planning, ITcon Vol. 10, Special issue From 3D to nD modelling, pg. 55-67, http://www.itcon.org/2005/6