ITcon Vol. 8, pg. 85-99, http://www.itcon.org/2003/7

Utilizing virtual environments in construction projects

submitted:August 2002
revised:January 2003
published:May 2003
editor(s):Kahkonen K
authors:Lauri Savioja, Professor,
Telecommunications Software and Multimedia Laboratory, Helsinki University of Technology, Fi
email: Lauri.Savioja@hut.fi, http://www.tml.hut.fi/~las/

Markku Mantere,
Telecommunications Software and Multimedia Laboratory, Helsinki University of Technology, Fi
email: Markku.Mantere@hut.fi

Iikka Olli,
Telecommunications Software and Multimedia Laboratory, Helsinki University of Technology, Fi
email: Iikka.Olli@hut.fi

Seppo Äyräväinen,
Telecommunications Software and Multimedia Laboratory, Helsinki University of Technology, Fi
email: Seppo.Ayravainen@hut.fi

Matti Gröhn,
Telecommunications Software and Multimedia Laboratory, Helsinki University of Technology, Fi
email: Matti.Grohn@hut.fi

Jyrki Iso-Aho
A-konsultit, Helsinki, Fi
email: jyrki.iso-aho@a-konsultit.fi
summary:Construction projects can gain major benefits from application of virtual environments. The virtual reality techniques help designers to communicate with each other, as well as with the decision makers and with the end-users. In the future, the whole product model of a new building should form one virtual building, which can be efficiently investigated utilizing virtual environments. In this article we present some basics of virtual reality technology, and the required software and hardware components from the viewpoint of a construction project. The main emphasis of the article is in the description of the construction project of a new lecture hall at the Helsinki University of Technology, and how a virtual environment was utilized in that project.
keywords:Virtual environments, virtual reality, visualization, construction project
full text: (PDF file, 0.708 MB)
citation:Savioja L, Mantere M, Olli I, Äyräväinen S, Gröhn M, Iso-aho J (2003). Utilizing virtual environments in construction projects, ITcon Vol. 8, Special issue Virtual Reality Technology in Architecture and Construction, pg. 85-99, http://www.itcon.org/2003/7